#notvalued

I am currently on strike with the City of London, I belong to Cupe 101 inside workers union.  We are on our 27th day of striking.  Striking is absolutely no fun.  It is very demoralizing.

I have used social media, Twitter to make comments to our Mayor and councillors #notvalued to try to make a difference in their thinking and their opinions or at least get my point across as I feel we are being passed over. I am getting many followers from my Tweets.  It is a good way of getting in touch with people quickly.

A group of about 320 union member also have made a private Facebook page where we can share newspaper, blogsRadio or tv news stories about our plight, people  need to be invited to the page in order to see the posts. We also share pictures, motivational phrased or pages.  We also use Facebook to communicate during the day if there are changes in the locations of picketing.  Messenger is a great way of getting messages out quickly.  We believe that we have a mole who is in contact with city managers on our Facebook page so we are using messenger more often

I would like to use social media to publicly thank companies and people who have donated to our cause through cash donations, drinks, and food.  It makes us very happy that there are people who are standing with us.

Social Media is a great tool for us to use but it is also used against us by our City’s Senior management.  It is a very powerful tool.

One thought on “#notvalued

Leave a comment